Quentin Delapierre celebrated his debut as captain of France by winning his first SailGP event in the Bay of Cádiz, with a narrow three-second lead over the Americans.
Jimmy Spithill’s scuffle with the United States culminated in a tense last-minute battle between the two crews, before France crossed the finish line only three seconds ahead. Tom Slingsby’s Australia, meanwhile, finished third after the United States’ aggressive match-racing strategy pushed them to the back of the pack.
It couldn’t have been worse. A fatal day with hardly any wind in the Gulf of Cádiz in Spain. Two very uneven sleeves from start to finish. In the first they entered outside the time limit (16 minutes) and in the second they were eighth, yes, ahead of Great Britain. I don’t know how we can hide this poor performance from the Spanish Sail GP team, but whatever excuses they may make, it is not Spain that excited the 80,000 spectators who came to watch it live on Saturday.
Great start in the first heat by Pin and Windward from Great Britain. The second was very well unmarked and dribbling in, so much so that in the third section they were able to overtake the English and give it to Canada, who took advantage of Spain’s absurd marking. Get enough distance to escape the English and sail clearly and calmly. They turned the third mark a few seconds ahead of Denmark and Great Britain, and it was precisely in this section that the Spanish boat suddenly lost control and stopped moving, taking seventh place in the classification.
The wind started blowing and time was running out. Meanwhile, forward, Canada, Australia and Great Britain took almost a section to the rest of the fleet. It was clear that it was not possible to finish the regatta as the clock was running faster than the F50.
In the end, only the first three qualified, who entered the 16 minutes established by the rules as the time limit. Canada is followed by Australia and Great Britain. The rest, ineligible.
out of line
The second stage with low wind, an intensity of about 7 knots and a number of things to clarify in order to qualify for the contention of the final regatta of the Spanish event. A lot of nerves before the start, so much so that the Spanish team made an unfortunate line-out while trying to loop the loop twenty seconds before crossing the line. This is where the regatta ended for Zammer’s men, as they were already seventh at the break mark, while Canada ruled the regatta as it did in the first round of the day. He was penalized and finished eighth in the standings ahead of Great Britain.
Canada and Denmark commanded the fleet with a good distance. It was speculated that it was going to be the day of the Canadians, while it was also seen that New Zealand’s poor performance was going to throw them out of the final in favor of the surprising France.
Spain finished eighth ahead of Great Britain and thus closed a bad day that places them in seventh place in the general classification of the event held in Cádiz.
end of heart attack
The final was played between France, the United States and Australia. The regatta’s “Cinderella” took advantage of the winning desire of the Americans and Australians to place herself at the top of the regatta before the start. The French did what they had to do, swim and take care of their clothes and almost ended the fight between their two rivals.
The impromptu match race between the United States and Australia was used by France to secure a victory over the Americans by just three seconds, in a truly heart-wrenching final section. A victory that didn’t enter the forecasters or the most optimistic, but was deserved.