Sunday, December 04, 2022

Biden Administration Announces $400 Million for Rural Internet Access

Biden administration announces $400 million for rural internet access

US President Joe Biden’s administration announced Thursday that it will provide $401 million to provide access to high-speed Internet for 31,000 rural residents and businesses in 11 states, following Biden’s campaign to expand access to the Web. As part of the Trends report, citing Reuters.

“With this money we are one step closer to President Biden’s ambitious goal of affordable and reliable Internet for all,” Biden’s infrastructure coordinator Mitch Landrieu told reporters.

Meanwhile, Vice President Kamala Harris is traveling to New York on Thursday to announce the formation of the Economic Opportunity Coalition, a coalition of 23 companies and foundations aimed at investing billions of dollars in low-income communities.

The group’s purpose, the White House said, would be to “redress economic inequalities and accelerate economic opportunity in communities of color and other underserved communities.”

The White House said founding members of the alliance include Ariel Investments, Bank of America, BNY Mellon, Capital One, Citi, Discover, Ford Foundation, Goldman Sachs, Google, Key Bank, Craze Foundation, Mastercard, McDonald’s, McKinsey & Company, Micron. Are included. , Momentus Capital, Moody’s, Netflix, PayPal, PNC, The Rockefeller Foundation, TIAA and Upstart.

The $401 million in loans and grants comes from the Reconnect Program, a fund spread by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The USDA said it will support high-speed Internet projects in Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Nevada, North Dakota and Texas.

World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.

Latest News

Related Stories

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Thanks for submitting your comment!