- Advertisement -spot_img
Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Butte County withdraws James Gallagher

James Gallagher will still be Butte County Assemblyman under new redistribution maps approved this week.

The California Citizens Redistribution Commission previously moved the butte from the third district of Yuba City Republicans to the first district of northeastern California. But that proposal drew criticism from many Butte County residents.

The new third district will look similar to the existing district, encompassing Butte, Tehama, Glen, Sutter and Yuba counties and parts of Placer County.

In the state Senate, however, Jim Nielsen’s fourth district has gone elsewhere. The Red Bluff Republican District would be largely absorbed into District 1, which would include Butte, Yuba, Sutter, Colusa, Glen, Tehama, Shasta, Siskiyou, Modoc, Lassen Plumas, Sierra and Nevada Counties, and northeastern Placer Counties.

What was the 4th senatorial district, would largely be amalgamated into the 1st district. (WeDrawtheLinesCA.org/Contributed)

The new Fourth District extends from the first district along the Nevada border all the way south to include Inyo County, Foothills and Mountains County to the south, Madera County, and Stanislaus County on the San Joaquin Valley floor.

The first district seat does not come up for re-election until 2024, but Nielsen’s term ends the following year. But Nielsen is considering a run for state controller instead. He has registered a fundraising committee – Nielsen for State Comptroller 2022 – with the California Secretary of State.

The committee was actively raising funds until the end of June. The deadline for reporting donations for the second half of this year is not until next year.

The 1st Congressional District map has also been moved, losing some of the foothills and mountain areas in exchange for more on the Sacramento Valley floor.

The district now occupied by Doug Lamalfa (R-Richvale) would include Butte, Sutter, Colusa, Glen, Tehama, Shasta, Siskiyou, Modoc and Lassen counties and part of Yuba County.

Plumas, Sierra, and Nevada counties, which are currently in the first district, will be combined into the third district, which includes counties east of the Sierra to include Inyo County.

Butte County Withdraws James Gallagher
The First Congressional District omitted some of the eastern portion, but absorbed Colusa and Glen counties to the west. (WeDrawtheLinesCA.org/Contributed)

The current 3rd District – which includes Colusa and West Glen counties – will move to the southwest to absorb most of the current 5th District. The new district will be placed at number four.

The maps can be found at https://www.wedrawthelinesca.org/final_maps. Scroll to the bottom of the page, where there is an easy-to-use viewer. Public comments can still be made on the maps, but they are expected to be certified next week.

After the census, redistribution takes place every 10 years. All districts should be roughly equal in terms of population.

Congressional seat changes were also complicated because California would lose a seat in the House of Representatives, as some other states are increasingly moving.

In most states, the legislature creates maps, a process that can be political and is often criticized.

In 2008, California voters created an independent citizens’ commission to redraw the districts. There are five Democrats, five Republicans and four not affiliated with any party.

For each redistribution session a new commission is chosen in a process that concludes with a random drawing of 14 names.

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Deskhttps://worldnationnews.com/
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here