New Delhi: Social media giant Facebook has announced that it will take ‘stringent’ action against users who repeatedly share content on its platform, which has been rejected by the fact-checker. Currently, users are notified when they share content rated by a fact-checker, but according to Facebook, these information are now redesigned and simplified to better understand them.
Facebook said, “We are introducing new ways to inform people whether they are interacting with content that has been rejected by the fact-checker. Also taking strict action against those people Who repeatedly share misinformation on Facebook. Whether it is false or misleading content about the COVID-19 vaccine, climate change, elections or other topics. We are making sure that fewer people get misinformation on our apps. See. ”
Facebook will also reduce distribution in the news feed of posts from individual users who have repeatedly shared false content by the company’s fact-checker partners. He said, “We will reduce the distribution of all posts from a person’s Facebook account to a news feed if they repeatedly share content that has been rejected by one of our fact-checkers. Already reduces access to the post if it is rejected. ”
In addition, Facebook is launching a new tool that will let users know if they are interacting with content that has been misreported by a fact-checker. “The company said,” We want people to You want to give more information before liking the page, which has repeatedly shared content that has been rejected by the fact-checker. So if you like one of these pages, you will see a pop up. You can also click to learn more. Including that fact-checker, many stated that some posts shared by this page included incorrect information and a link to more information about our fact-checker. ”
Facebook will now allow users to hide their public ‘Like’ count as part of the company’s efforts to give people control over their experience on its platform as well as on Instagram. Users will be able to hide the ‘Like’ count on the post by going to the new post section in the settings.