- Advertisement -spot_img
Thursday, February 2, 2023

Caricasulo leads FP1 in WorldSSP return to Phillip Island, local idol Bellis, 4

Australia’s round Grand Ridge Brewery, which will kick off the 2022 season of the FIM Supersport World Championship at the iconic Phillip Island track, began this Friday with early dominance from Federico Carricassolu (Althea Racing), who won by more than six tenths of a Excellent performance. He finished second to his nearest rivals, while local hero Ollie Bayliss (BARNI Spark Racing Team) completed his best finish of the season by finishing fourth on his home round debut.

Carricasulo recorded a time of 1’34.067 in the final leg of the 45-minute free practice session, with a margin of 0.647 over double world champion Dominik Egerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha), who was second. He headed the time sheet. , but Carricasulo’s last lap moved him into second place behind Mandalay Race 1 winner Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reperto Corse), only 0.069 s behind Egerter.

Oliver Bellis signed off on his best performance in an open season by taking fourth place with a time of 1’34.831. The Aussie has slipped out of the top ten consecutively before taking the position at the checkered flag. Andy Verdoia (GMT94 Yamaha), fifth, also had a solid session. The Frenchman’s time was 8 tenths behind Carricasulo, while Nicolo Bulega (Aruba.it Racing WorldSSP Team) completed the top 6 with less than a tenth behind Verdoia.

2022 runner-up Lorenzo Baldassari (Ivan Brothers WorldSSP Yamaha Team) was seventh on his first WorldSSP trip to the circuit, ahead of Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha), eighth on his last round start. The French rider retires from motorcycling at the age of 34 when the season ends next Sunday. Yari Montella (Kawasaki Pusetti Racing) finished ninth for Kawasaki despite struggling and coming close to crashing in the final corner during the session, while Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph) rounded out the FP1 top 10.

The representatives of Spain have started the round with discreet results. Unai Orradre (MS Racing) qualified 16th and Adrián Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) qualified 20th.

Ahead of permanently joining the 2023 grid, former Moto2 rider Marcel Schroeter (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) made his debut as a wildcard this weekend. The German finished 12th with a time of 1′ 35.563. Cain Onku (Kawasaki Pusetti Racing), who is aiming to finish third in the championship, started the round setting the 17th fastest time of the session.

WorldSSP FP1 Top 6. Full results here:

1. Federico Carriasulo (Althea Racing) 1’34.067s

2. Dominic Egerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) +0.647

3. Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reparto Cours) +0.716

4. Ollie Bayliss (Bernie Spark Racing Team) +0.764 s

5. Andy Verdoia (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.792s

6. Nicolo Bulega (Aruba.it Racing WorldSSP Team) 0.814 s

Watch the best of the 2022 Australian round with the 2023 WorldSBK VideoPass!

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Deskhttps://worldnationnews.com/
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here