Thursday, November 30, 2023

Claudia Goldin won the 2023 Nobel Prize in Economics

This Monday, the Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memorial of Alfred Nobel 2022, commonly known as the Nobel Prize in Economics, to the American Claudia Goldin, a professor at Harvard University (USA). The award recognizes her contribution to research on women’s participation in the world of work and makes Goldin the third woman to receive it after 55 editions.

As every year, with this distinction – endowed with 11 million Swedish crowns (950,000 euros at the current exchange rate) – the Nobel awards round closes. It will be awarded, like the others, in a double ceremony to be held on December 10 in Oslo (Nobel Peace Prize) and in Stockholm (all others).

The Nobel Prize in Economics is the only one of six prizes not directly created by the Swedish magnate Alfred Nobel. Unlike others, it was created in 1968 by the National Bank of Sweden (Riksbank, in Swedish), which was issued for the first time a year later. Also unlike the other five categories, none of its editions have been abandoned.

Women’s names are an exception among the winners: of the 92 researchers who have won – up to and including 2022 – only three are women: the American Elinor Ostrom (in 2009), the French Esther Duflo (in 2019, when at the age of 46. he also became the youngest winner of the award) and, now, Goldin.

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Desk
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news