Thursday, November 30, 2023

Lewis Hamilton and Charles Leclerc were disqualified from the US Grand Prix

Drivers are penalized for failing to meet the minimum requirements for their vehicles. While Lando Norris and Carlos Sainz got the podium

Formula 1 (F1) drivers Lando Norris and Carlos Sainz benefited from the disqualification of Lewis Hamilton and Charles Leclerc from the United States Grand Prix (GP).

The Mercedes and Ferrari drivers were penalized after F1 stewards concluded that both drivers’ cars did not meet the minimum wing criteria during the race.

Both cars failed to pass the technical verifications, because they did not reach the thickness of the wooden panels under the car due to the destruction of the ground.

The resin plate is a strip located in the central part of the floor that measures 10 millimeters in thickness and up to one millimeter of wear is allowed, it is according to article No. 3.5.9 e to Formula One Technical Regulations.

“Ailerons located in the area -825 XR – 1025 do not comply with article 3.5.9 e) of Formula One Technical Regulations 2023″, part of the F1 statement about the penalties against Hamilton and Leclerc.

Both drivers have the power to appeal the decision of the stewards, however, these F1 penalties are firm in nature and establish that penalties, such as disqualifications, should be automatic.

That said, Norris (second) and Sainz (third) were able to take the podium in the United States GP, while Sergio Pérez took fourth place. The Mexican was able to gain up to 39 points difference over the Briton for second place in the drivers’ championship with these new changes.

Meanwhile Sainz was able to close the gap with Fernando Alonso. The Ferrari driver has currently scored 171 points compared to the Aston Martin driver’s 183, a difference of just 12 units.

After the penalties, the United States GP ended as follows:

1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

2. Lando Norris (McLaren)

3. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

4. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

5. George Russell (Mercedes)

6. Pierre Gasly (Alpine)

7. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)

8. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)

9. Alex Albon (Williams)

10. Loga Sargeant (Williams)

11. Nico Hulkenberg (Haas)

12. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)

13. Guanyu Zhou (Alfa Romeo)

14. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)

15. Daniel Ricciardo (AlphaTauri)

16. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)

17. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)

18. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)

19. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)*

20. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)*

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Desk
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news