Monday, December 11, 2023

More than a hundred cultural personalities signed a manifesto against amnesty

The undersigned, active representatives of culture, writers and intellectuals from the most diverse disciplines, want to publicly express our deep concern about the dangerous drift of politics that accompanies the teaching in the presidency of the Government of our country after the last July 2023 election.

We are concerned about the consequences that may arise from the agreement between the current President of the Government and the pro-independence political forces in Spain: the increase in tension between territories and sectors of the population, the unequal imbalance of finances between the communities proposed and the loss of equality between Spaniards. In particular, we are concerned about the politicization of justice and the erosion of the separation of powers, a fundamental part of maintaining the rule of law.

Our reflection, the sum of various ideological sensitivities and none of us having direct political activity, is as follows. Democracy’s sovereignty is based on an inviolable principle: it rests with the people. Therefore, any agreement or plan adopted by the political class that is not mentioned in a government program, or expressed publicly before the polls, cannot be defended later as democratic, if it does not have the endorsement of people, sole deposit of sovereignty. .

And it’s even more indefensible when the agreement that didn’t pass the polls is so obvious to anyone with the slightest critical sense. The amnesty law was not in the programs of the Government of those who stood for the elections and, moreover, it was rejected by the members of the Government in office with promises that it would never be accepted because it did not fall within the framework of the constitution .

Our proposal is very clear. Any political initiative that changes the constitutional consensus under which we have lived in peace and freedom for the past decades must be endorsed at the polls in a general election and, if necessary, in a referendum, the only means for the will of the people to express. town

As citizens, we feel deeply concerned about the dangerous degradation of the values ​​we expect from our politicians: loyalty to principles, honesty, proportionality and balance, promotion of justice, judicial independence, respect for think differently and, above all, do not forget the truth.

The undersigned, like millions of Spaniards, wish to walk the path of peace, freedom and social and political stability; and it is the responsibility of those who seek to govern that this goal is achieved and equal rights are guaranteed for all.


  • Fernando Alonso Barahona, writer
  • José Luis Alonso de Santos, playwright
  • Francisco Javier Alonso Lorenzo, writer
  • José María Álvarez, poet
  • María Teresa Álvarez García, historian and writer
  • Ángel Aponte Marín, historian and writer
  • Rebeca Argudo, writer and journalist
  • Inocencio Arias, writer
  • León Arsenal, writer
  • Almudena de Arteaga, writer
  • Daniel Arveras, writer
  • Sandra Aza, writer
  • Enrique Baquedano, archaeologist and writer
  • César Benítez Martínez, screenwriter and producer
  • Fernando Benzo, writer
  • Domingo Buesa, historian and writer
  • Pío Cabanillas Alonso, essayist and photographer
  • José Calvo Poyato, writer and historian
  • Rafaela Cano, writer
  • Edgar Caprioti, writer
  • Carmen Casal, writer and journalist
  • Santiago Castellanos, historian and writer
  • César Cervera, writer and journalist
  • Elizabeth Cruz-Conde, translator and teacher
  • Carlos Cuesta, essayist
  • Santiago Díaz Cortés, writer
  • Jorge Díaz Cortés, writer and filmmaker
  • Mari Pau Domínguez, writer
  • Juan Eslava Galán, writer
  • José Javier Esparza, writer and journalist
  • Ángel Expósito, essayist and journalist
  • Jesús Fernández de Úbeda, journalist and writer
  • José Alfonso Fernández Martínez, writer
  • Augusto Ferrer Dalmau, painter
  • Eric Frattini, writer and journalist
  • María José Fuente Álamo, writer and journalist
  • Luz Gabás, writer
  • Raúl Gabás Pallás, philosopher and writer
  • Alfonso García, writer
  • Antonio Garrido, writer
  • Miquel Giménez, journalist and writer
  • Mireia Giménez Higón, writer
  • Gonzalo Giner, writer and veterinarian
  • César Girón López, lawyer and writer
  • David Gómez, writer
  • Gregorio Gómez Pina, writer
  • Ana Jessen, book restorer
  • Carmelo Jordá, essayist and journalist
  • Emilio Lara, writer and historian
  • Magdalena Lasala, writer
  • Concha López Piquer, journalist
  • Obdulio López, writer
  • Ángeles López de Celis, writer
  • Marcos López Herrador, writer
  • Cristina López Schlichting, writer and journalist
  • Pedro López-Arriba, librarian and essayist
  • Juan Ramón Lucas, journalist and writer
  • Olga Luján, writer
  • Jesús Maeso, writer
  • Arturo Martín, writer
  • Verónica Martínez Amat, writer
  • Fernando Martínez Laínez, writer
  • Luis Medina del Palacio, writer
  • María Nieves Michavila, writer
  • Jorge Molist, writer
  • Luis Monje Arenas, scientific photographer and professor
  • Carla Montero, writer
  • Francisco Narla, writer
  • Javier Negrete, writer
  • José María Nieto, cartoonist
  • Lola P. Nieva, writer
  • Pedro Pujante, writer and professor
  • Paloma Orozco, writer
  • José Luis Ortín, writer
  • María Oruña Reinoso, writer
  • Joaquín del Palacio, publicist and writer
  • José Palomares Expósito, writer and professor
  • Francisco Javier Pavón Arenas, writer
  • César Pérez Gellida, writer
  • Antonio Pérez Henares, writer and journalist
  • Begoña Pro, writer
  • José Manuel Puebla Ros, cartoonist
  • María Pilar Queralt, writer
  • Luis Rabaneda, essayist and librarian
  • Javier Rubio Donzé, essayist
  • Michelangelo of Rus, writer
  • José Manuel Sala, writer
  • Isabel San Sebastián, writer and journalist
  • Silvia Sanfederico Roca, writer
  • Pedro Santamaría, writer
  • Javier Santamarta del Pozo, writer
  • Fernando Savater, philosopher and writer
  • Amanda Seibiel, writer
  • María José Solano, writer and journalist
  • Ana Cristina Tolivar Alas, writer
  • Luis del Val, writer and journalist
  • Begoña Valero, writer
  • Ignacio del Valle, writer
  • Álbert Vázquez, writer
  • Miguel Vega Blázquez, writer and professor
  • Roberto Verino, designer
  • Maria Vila, writer
  • Jorge Vilches, writer and journalist
  • Ramón Villa, essayist
  • Mario Villén Lucena, writer
  • Luis Zueco, writer
World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Desk
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news