Saturday, June 10, 2023

More Tickets to Paris: New Zealand, Argentina, Fiji and Australia qualify for the Olympic Games

New Zealand, Argentina, Fiji and Australia qualified for the 2024 Paris Olympic Games by securing one of the four places offered by the World Rugby Sevens Series, which concludes this weekend in London, England.

Australia finished the season in fifth place, just one point ahead of Samoa, and benefited from the fact that France, already qualified for the Olympic Games as the host nation, finished fourth and freed up a spot. .

The New Zealanders were the great dominators of the season: they accumulated 200 points and titles in Sydney, Los Angeles, Hong Kong, Singapore and Toulouse; Argentina, for their part, added 179 units and were champions in Hamilton, Vancouver and London, where the world circuit closed at the legendary Twickenham Stadium.

Australia (133) won the first leg in Hong Kong in November last year, while South Africa (seventh with 120) and Samoa (132) were the other champions in this season’s World Rugby Sevens series, winning in Dubai. and Cape Town, respectively.

New Zealand won stage five of the World Rugby Sevens and was the great dominator of the season

These four selected have secured a pass on the world circuit to Paris 2024, with France being the host, joined by a further seven to complete the 12 that will be part of rugby at the Olympic Games. How will be the classification?

Six places in various continental tournaments will be defined: South America (June 17 and 18, 2023 in Montevideo), North America (to be defined), Europe (June 21 to July at the Krakow European Games), and a qualifier for the European Games. 3), Africa (to be defined), Asia (to be defined) and Oceania (to be defined).

Meanwhile, the final graded Olympic repechage for Paris 2024 will take place in June next year and will feature 12 selected participants (two for each continental tournament).

Fiji will seek an Olympic treble in Paris 2024 after anointing at Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020

Rugby, in its sevens modality, was first present at the Olympic Games in Rio 2016 and the gold medal went to Fiji, who repeated the title five years later in Tokyo. The UK and South Africa rounded out the podium in Brazil, while New Zealand and Argentina did so in Japan.

The men’s tournament at the 2024 Paris Olympic Games will take place between 24 and 27 July at the Stade de France in Saint-Denis; While the women’s event will be held from 29 to 31.

Among women, there have also been five qualified teams so far: New Zealand (they won six of the seven stages of the World Rugby Sevens Series), Australia (they won the rest), the United States and Ireland, who like Australia The men were in fifth place and had the advantage that France ended the season in fourth place and vacated one place.

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Desk
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here