- Advertisement -spot_img
Thursday, August 11, 2022

MP civic polls: BJP lost Tomar-Scindia’s stronghold, Congress captured Gwalior after 57 years; AAP’s “Blast Entry”

MP Civic Polls: Interesting results have been seen in the Madhya Pradesh urban body elections. Where for the first time the Aam Aadmi Party has registered its winning presence in any election in the state. In the elections, AAP has won one seat of mayor and 17 seats of councillors. At the same time, the ruling party BJP in the state lost its important seat to the Congress. In the first phase of the counting of votes for the municipal elections held on Sunday, out of the 11 municipal mayor posts, the BJP has won seven, the Congress three and the Aam Aadmi Party candidate. In the first phase of polling for a total of 16 municipal corporations in the state, 11 municipal corporation elections were held on July 6.

Important points on the results of the civic elections:

  1. The BJP has suffered a major loss in the civic polls, that is because the party has lost its seat in a stronghold of big leaders. Gwalior, which is considered to be the stronghold of Union ministers Jyotiraditya Scindia and Narendra Singh Tomar, lost the party’s candidate Suman Sharma to Congress’ Shobha Sikarwar. Shobha Sikarwar is the wife of Congress MLA Satish Sikarwar. Satish Sikarwar had contested the assembly elections on behalf of BJP in 2018, but was defeated. After this, he contested the by-election on a Congress ticket in November 2020 and won.

  2. Not only this, the party has also lost in Jabalpur, the in-laws of BJP National President JP Nadda and Madhya Pradesh BJP President VD Sharma. Congress candidate Jagat Bahadur Singh defeated BJP’s Dr Jitendri Jamdar by 44,339 votes for the post of mayor here.

  3. Talking about Congress, party’s candidate Vikram Ahke defeated BJP’s Antar Kumar Dhurve by a margin of 3,786 votes from Chhindwara. Chhindwara is considered to be the stronghold of Congress state president Kamal Nath. Congress got majority seats by winning 26 out of 48 wards.

  4. In Sagar, BJP’s Sangeeta Tiwari defeated Congress’s Nidhi Jain, sister-in-law of BJP MLA Shailendra Jain. Apart from Sagar, BJP has also won in Khandwa, Burhanpur and Satna.

  5. In Burhanpur, BJP’s Madhuri Patel defeated her nearest rival and Congress candidate Shahnaz Ansari by a margin of 542 votes. In Satna, BJP’s Yogesh Kumar Tamrakar defeated Siddharth Kushwaha of Congress by a margin of 24,916 votes. In Khandwa, BJP’s candidate Amrita Yadav defeated Asha Jain of Congress by 19,763 votes. Besides this, in Sagar, BJP’s candidate Sangeeta Tiwari defeated Nidhi Jain of Congress by 12,665 votes.

  6. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which is contesting the urban body elections for the first time in Madhya Pradesh, has got better results in the counting of votes held on Sunday. The party has won one mayor’s seat and 17 councilors’ seats. AAP candidate Rani Aggarwal has won for the post of mayor in Singrauli Municipal Corporation. Although, before this, AAP had fielded its candidates in the Lok Sabha and assembly elections, but it did not win. Out of the 17 AAP councilors who have won, five candidates have won from Singrauli Municipal Corporation, while the rest have won councilor elections from various municipalities and municipal councils of the state.

  7. BJP candidates were declared victorious for the post of mayor in Indore, Bhopal, Ujjain, Burhanpur, Satna, Khandwa and Sagar. Whereas in Gwalior, Jabalpur and Chhindwara, Congress and Aam Aadmi Party candidate in Singrauli have won for the post of mayor.

  8. AAP leader Akshay Hunka told that his party has won the Singrauli Municipal Corporation mayoral election as well as the councilor election from five wards of this corporation. From Singrauli, Aam Aadmi Party’s Rani Agarwal defeated her nearest rival Chandra Pratap Vishwakarma of BJP by a margin of 9,231 votes. 12 councilors of AAP have also won elections from different municipalities and municipal councils of the state. Altogether one mayor and 17 councilors have won in the state.

  9. However, AAP did not get majority in Singrauli Municipal Corporation, as out of total 45 councilors elected in it, 23 are from BJP, 12 from Congress, two from Bahujan Samaj Party and three are independents.

  10. AAP convener Arvind Kejriwal tweeted after the party in the Madhya Pradesh municipal elections, “Singrauli Municipal Corporation election result 2022: AAP’s bang entry in Madhya Pradesh.” Kejriwal had a roadshow in support of Agarwal during the election campaign. .

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Deskhttps://worldnationnews.com/
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here