Google recently announced changes to contact sync for Android devices in the latest update to Google Play Services.
This will generate that, when deactivating this function, the contacts of the devices that were previously synchronized will be deleted.
It should be noted that Google Play Services is a software service used to update Google and Google Play applications. And it was in its last update (v23.20) that the American company made a number of changes, including the way it syncs contacts across Android devices.
However, so that users do not lose their contacts saved on the cell phone, they can be synchronized, this works for Android devices.
This doesn’t mean that Google will intentionally delete contacts, but with its new synchronization system, synced contacts will be removed from mobile devices if they stop doing so now.
It is important to clarify that if users keep Android Contacts active, they will not lose them. And if they have never synchronized them. Simply put, if the user deactivates synchronization, then the contacts in the cloud will be removed from the cell phone.
Until today, synchronized Google contacts were kept on the cell phone even if the user disabled synchronization, but that has changed. However, if you turn sync back on, the person will get the contacts back.
Now, the advantage of syncing contacts is that they will be automatically added to any new Android device where the person uses the same Google Account. In addition, the user will be able to consult and manage contacts online on the contacts.google.com page.
How to sync your Android Contacts?
- Enter the Contacts app made by Google. If the user does not have it, they can download it from Google Play.
- Once inside the app, click OK and Manage, although you can also click your profile picture in the top right.
- In the Contacts app’s Settings, click on Google Contacts synchronization settings, which is the option that will appear in the first place.
- Go to the Google Contacts synchronization screen, there the user will see the synchronization status. Here, one can turn on cloud sync and sync contacts from their device as well. They are different options, but both are useful.
- In these two options the person will have a switch to activate the synchronization. With normal sync, contacts in your Google Account will sync to your phone. And with another, it will also add all the contacts that are on your phone or on your SIM card, so that they get added to the list.
Tired of Google Ads? so you can block them on your cell phone
- First of all, the Google Chrome app has to be opened.
- Then, click on the three dots located in the upper right area and enter “Settings”.
- Next, go to “Website Settings” and scroll down to click on “Ads”.
- There you will see a disable switch which you just need to enable by pressing the button.
In this way, Google Chrome will not allow overly invasive ads to appear and will notify you of each action every time you enter a web page from your mobile. Likewise, it is worth mentioning that this configuration will not prevent the ad from appearing if another browser is used, as it only works with Google Chrome, as it is a specialized tool of this browser.