- Advertisement -spot_img
Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Presidential election: More than 99% votes cast, cross voting in favor of Murmu shocked the opposition

Presidential Election 2022: The name of the next President of the country is locked in the ballot box. In the elections held on Monday, there was a lot of voting in the Parliament and Legislative Assemblies. According to officials, more than 99 percent of the votes have been cast. The main contest in the election is between NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu and opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha. In terms of statistics, Murmu’s victory is considered certain.

There was a lot of enthusiasm among the MPs in the Parliament House since morning regarding the presidential election. As soon as voting started at 10 am, NDA MPs stood in long queues to vote. Prime Minister Narendra Modi cast his vote in the opening hour itself. After that all NDA MPs including BJP President JP Nadda, Home Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh cast their votes in turn. Later, on behalf of the opposition, all the MPs of the opposition including former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress President Sonia Gandhi and Congress leader Rahul Gandhi voted.

730 out of 736 voters cast their votes

According to the data released by the Election Commission after voting, more than 99 percent voting took place including MPs and MLAs. In the Parliament House too, out of a total of 736 voters, 730 voters cast their votes. Nine MLAs from different states had also taken permission to cast their votes in the Parliament House. Whereas most of the Trinamool Congress MPs voted in the assembly in Kolkata. According to the information, a total of 8 MPs did not vote in the Parliament House. Sunny Deol of BJP was also included in the MPs who did not vote.

Cross voting in many states

Draupadi Murmu’s victory is already believed to be certain, but in the voting held on Monday, there were reports of cross voting from different states, due to which Murmu’s victory could be bigger. There have been reports of opposition MLAs voting in favor of Murmu from several states including Gujarat, Assam, Orissa and Uttar Pradesh.

Even two TRS MPs and one Trinamool Congress (TMC) MP have been reported to vote in favor of Murmu. The claims of opposition unity have also suffered a major setback due to cross voting, while opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha appealed to all voters to vote on the voice of conscience. The votes will be counted on July 21 and the new President will be sworn in on July 25.

Akhilesh Yadav’s camp was dented on the pretext of Presidential election, Shivpal and OP Rajbhar taunted

PM Modi In Navy Program: PM Modi said, ‘Our soldiers will have that weapon, about which the enemies would not even have thought’

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Deskhttps://worldnationnews.com/
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here