- Advertisement -spot_img
Monday, March 20, 2023

Son Final: Australia snatched the title from the Brits

The semi-final winners of Australia and Sweden fought alongside the Brits in the final for the title at the Speedway of the Nations in Vojnes. Poland is disappointed despite strong Bartosz Zemmerzlik.

Australia last won the World Team Championship in 2002, when Jack Holder and Max Frick were six years old and Jason Doyle was just a teenager. At the time, the Speedway World Cup was held relatively fresh and Australian colors were represented by Jason Crump, Leigh Adams, Todd Wiltshire, Jason Lyons and Ryan Sullivan. Since then, there has been a drought in the Aussies which was supposed to end this year.

With their win in the semi-finals, the Australians have already shown that they are a force to be reckoned with at Wogens. There it became clear that Dhruva is not superior. With sixth place, the Poles, where Bartosz Zemmerzlik was the lone fighter with almost 20 points out of 26, fell far short of expectations and defeated only the Finns. For the first time in ten years, there was no medal for him at the World Team Championships.

In the Speedway of the Nations final, the Brits first had to digest the bitter pill that Tai Wofiden couldn’t start, with Robert Lambert and Dan Bewley, who had already won the title together last year, stepped into the breach. They seemed unaffected, with Wofiden’s support in the pits, the Brits had a decent run, being able to go straight into the final with 6:3 in the last heat against Sweden and sending the Swedes into a repechage run against Australia. Gave. ,

Jack Holder managed to win the repechage for the final, while Fredrik Lindgren finished second. There was a tough fight for third place and Bernatzon fell to the ground when Oliver Berntzon of Sweden attacked Max Frick. This sealed Australia’s entry into the final and Sweden’s bronze medal at the World Championships.

For the final, the Brits chose their starting places first, choosing first and third places, while the Aussies had to take second and fourth. Holder and Frick, who ran the entire race for Australia, started better than the Brits and took the lead. Holder drove ahead, while Frick was able to stop the British from advancing with a clever choice of line and thus clinch the Australian’s title win.

With Australia winning and medals for Great Britain and Sweden, it was also certain that Danish team manager Hans Nielsen would go without a medal as the Danish team finished fourth, 28 points ahead of the Czechs.

Ergebnische Finale Speedway der Nationalen Vogens/DK:

1. Australia, 30 points: Jason Doyle N, Max Frick 11, Jack Holder 19
2. Great Britain 32: Daniel Bevle 14, Robert Lambert 18
3. Sweden 30: Fredrik Lindgren 10, Oliver Berntzon 20, Victor Palovara Nou
4. Denmark 28: Leon Madsen 15, Mikel Michelson 13, Anders Thomson no
5. Czech Republic 27: Vaclav Milik 18, Jan Kevech 9, Petr Chlupac No.
6. Poland 26: Bartosz Zemmerzlik 20, Patrick Dudek 2, Maciej Janowski 4
7. Finland 16: Timo Lahti 14, Timi Salonen 0, Jesse Mustonen 2

Repechages to make it to the finals:

Australia – Sweden 6:3
1. Jack Holder, 2. Fredrik Lindgren, 3. Max Frick, 4. Oliver Berntzon(s)

Australia – Great Britain 7:2
1. Jack Holder, 2. Max Frick, 3. Daniel Bewley, 4. Robert Lambert

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Deskhttps://worldnationnews.com/
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here