Monday, March 4, 2024

Spain reaffirmed its European hegemony with a seventh consecutive title

LThe Spanish women’s roller hockey team was proclaimed European champion for the eighth time in its history, the seventh in a row, after defeating Portugal in the final this Saturday (4-0) with goals from Aina Florenza, Marta Piquero (2) and Anna Casarramona.

The team coached by Ricard Muñoz has crowned an almost perfect tournament, where they won the five matches played at the Josep Jou court in the Olot Sports Pavilion (Gerona) with a balance of 31 goals for of and 4 against.

Spain, who had already defeated Portugal in the group stage (5-1), entered the final determined to impose its style and achieved it. He cornered the Portuguese team with intense pressure, shared the ball with speed and finished decisively.

The lack of goals and the stoppage of Claudia Vicente postponed the goal, which came after 11 minutes (1-0) with a long shot by Aina Florenza, the most consistent of the Spanish attack, which surprised the Portuguese goalkeeper.

Spain extended the result shortly after in an action that brought the sign of Telecable Gijón, as Sara Roces assisted in the center of the area for the precise shot of Marta Piquero in the first touch (2-0, min.15 ).

Demanded by the score, Portugal took a step forward at the end of the first half and consolidated its progress at the beginning of the second half, but Ana Ferrer’s stop protected the spoils of the Spanish team from the rapid Portuguese transition.

As the clock ticked down, the team coached by Ricard Muñoz took the ball, sealed the final with a powerful penalty taken by Marta Piquero (3-0, min.45) and put the icing on the cake in an individual action captain. of the Spanish team Anna Casarramona was defined by a close shot against the post (4-0, min.49).

In this way, Spain reaffirmed its hegemony on the European scene and was proclaimed champion of the continent for the eighth time, the seventh in a row, in the 16th edition of the tournament. It is the only Spanish women’s team that has achieved this feat.

– Datasheet

4. Spain: Ana Ferrer; Laura Puigdueta, Aina Florenza, Anna Casarramona, Marta Piquero -initial team-, Sara Roces, Mariona Colomer, Sara Lolo and Victòria Porta.

0. Portugal: Claudia Vicente; Ana Catarina Ferreira, Sofia Moncovio, Marlene Sousa, Raquel Santos -starting team-, Maria Ines Severino, Maria Silva, Rita Batista and Leonor Coelho.

Goal: 1-0: Aina Florenza, min.11. 2-0: Marta Piquero, min.15. 3-0: Marta Piquero, min.45. 4-0: Anna Casarramona, min.49.

Referees: Claudio Ferraro (ITA) and Louis Anthony Hyde (ITA).

Incidents: final of the European Championship held at the Josep Jou court in the Olot Sports Pavilion.

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Desk
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news