Saturday, June 3, 2023

SXSW: ‘I love my dad’ takes top fiction award

The 2022 SXSW Film Festival with James Morosini has announced its winners i love my dad and Rosa Ruth Boston master of light Taking top prizes in fiction and documentary respectively.

i love my dad tells the story of a man who is captured in an attempt to reunite by his estranged father (Patton Oswalt), while master of light There is a portrait of the painter George Anthony Morton. Other winners include undo something (episodic pilot) and all the crows in the world (story short).

The 2022 SXSW Film Festival is the first in-person iteration of the Austin-based fest since 2019. The film premiered in several major studio titles, including a Sandra Bullock release. the Lost City and nicolas cage movie unbearable load of huge talentas well as A24 entries everywhere together And bodies bodies bodies,

Hollywood ReporterKey Sherry Linden, along with filmmakers Siddhant Adalkhand and Janelle Riley were among the jury members for the Narrative Feature Competition. Diversity,

The festival audience award awards are still yet to be announced. See the full list of SXSW winners below.

Feature Film Grand Jury Awards

Story Feature Competition presented by Panavision
the winner: i love my dad
Director/Screenwriter: James Morosini, Producers: Bill Sturtz, Patton Oswalt, Sean O’Grady, Dan Ackerley, Phil Keefe, Daniel Brandt, Sam Slater

Special Jury Recognition for Exceptional Cinematic Vision: cast and crew, it’s in all of us

Special Jury Recognition for Breakthrough Performance: Elizaveta Yankovskaya, marriage

Documentary Feature Competition Presented by IMAX
the winner: master of light
Director: Rosa Ruth Boston Producer: Roger Ross Williams, Anusha Njume, Ilja Rumans

Special Jury Recognition for Exceptional Intimacy in Storytelling: bad ax
Director: David Siew, Producer: Jude Harris, Diane Kwan, Katrina Vasquez, David Siew

Special Jury Recognition for Acting in a Documentary: Steve Glave, page robber

Short Film Grand Jury Award Presented by imdbpro

short story competition
the winner: all the crows in the world
Director/Screenwriter: Tang Yi, Producer: Haozheng Liu

Special Jury Recognition for Directing and Community Filmmaking: glitter is not gold
Director/Screenwriter: Christian Nolan Jones, Producers: Mya Miller, T. Pops, O.J. Valerie Nichols

Special Jury Recognition for Outstanding Performance: Aphrodite Armstrong, Kyle Riggs, west by god

documentary short competition
the winner: long line of women
Director: Raika Zehtabchi, Shandin Tome, Producers: Garrett Schiff, Pim Tripp-Allen, Raika Zehtabchi, Sam Davis, Dana Kurth

Special Jury Recognition for Visual Reflection: Things don’t stand still for a moment
Director: Jamie Meltzer, Producers: Annie Marr, Jamie Meltzer, Susan Brennan Furstenberg

midnight shorts
the winner: moshari
Director/Screenwriter: Nuhash Humayun, Producer: Bushra Afreen, Nuhash Humayun

Special Jury Recognition for the Powerful “Short Journey”: Omi
Director: Kelly Fife-Marshall, Screenwriters: Tamer Bird, Kelly Fife-Marshall, Producers: Tamer Bird

animated shorts
the winner: Animal
Director: Hugo Covarrubias, Screenwriters: Martin Arrazo, Hugo Covarrubias, Producers: Tevo Diaz, Hugo Covarrubias

Special Jury Recognition for Unexpected Sentiment: Sean’s Tears
Director/Screenwriter: Yannis Bellad, Eliot Benard, Producer: Carlos de Carvalho

Special jury recognition for gut storytelling: something in the garden
Director/Screenwriter/Producer: Marcos Sanchezu

music movie
the winner: Desiree Dawson – “Meet Me in the Light”
Director/Screenwriter: Alexander Farah

Special jury recognition for going the extra mile: Myd – ‘Let You Speak’
Director/Screenwriter: Dan Cara

Texas Shorts
the winner: folk frontera
Director: Alejandra Vasquez, Sam Osborne

Special Jury Recognition for Vision: birds
Director/Screenwriter: Katherine Propper, Producer: Sofia Lofreda

Texas High School Shorts
the winner:
honey bee
Director/Screenwriter/Producer: Emilio Vazquez Reyes

Special Jury Recognition for Artistic Expression: it’s getting worse again
Director/Screenwriter: Sarah Reyes, Producers: Sarah Reyes, Kenneth Rogers

Episodic Pilot Contest
the winner: undo something
Director: Nicole Dorsey, Screenwriters: Michael Musee, Madison Walsh, Producers: Max Toplin, Jordan Hayes

Special Jury Recognition for Unique Vision in Writing and Directing: Pamela Ribbon and Sarah Gunnarsdottir, my year of dicks

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Desk
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here