Saturday, December 10, 2022

The 10 Most Outstanding Medicine Nobel Prize Winners of the 20th Century

The 10 Most Outstanding Medicine Nobel Prize Winners of the 20th Century

The 10 Most Outstanding Medicine Nobel Prize Winners Of The 20Th Century

Medicine is advancing by leaps and bounds, to the point that life expectancy is higher and higher and has exceeded 75 years in many countries, something unimaginable many years ago. But it did not happen from day to day. It is the result of the efforts of scientists Who worked hard for the betterment of humanity.

For this reason, here we will talk about the 10 most outstanding medical Nobel laureates of the last century.

Ronald Ross. 1902

Scottish physician Ronald Ross He received the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1902. thank you Discovery about malariaIn which he was able to demonstrate how it entered the body and based on that he helped develop ways to combat it.

He began the study of malaria in 1892 And in 1894 they decided to test whether mosquitoes were actually related to the spread of the disease, as indicated by the Laveran and Manson hypothesis. After almost 3 years of failure, he was finally able to show What was the life cycle of malaria parasites like? In mosquitoes, it helps a lot in combating it.

Ivan Pavlov. 1904

What was Russian physiologist Ivan Pavlov known for in the medical world? experiment with dogsgiving birth to what is now known medical terminology as “classical conditioning”, also called “Pavlovian”. It involves an associative learning method in which The organism in question responds to a stimulus, For his experiments with dogs, won the Nobel Prize in 1904,

today, His discoveries are studied in all psychology universities. and pedagogical science, being a fundamental principle of learning. For his work, he is one of the most important researchers in history.

Frederick Grant Banting and John James Ricard Macleod. 1923

Frederick Banting is recognized as “father of insulin“Giving birth to medical inventions that Has helped a lot and continues to help people with diabetes, Because of his work, November 14 is “World Diabetes Day”, the exact date Banting was born. Canadian researcher and British doctor MacLeod wrote a fundamental piece of medical history based on his work, which led to Receiving the Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine in 1923,

research on pancreatic secretion search for insulin And hence, save the lives of people affected by diabetes.

Alexander Fleming, Ernst Boris Chain, Howard Walter Florey. 1945

These 3 researchers worked together Discover PenicillinBy which Shared the 1945 Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine, that’s how they started era of antibioticsPerhaps the greatest advance in the history of medical medicine.

Although it took place in the United Kingdom, the United States played a fundamental role in making it large-scale to help soldiers in World War II. process Initial limits removed Made medical supplies and made it available to save lives.

Max Thiler. 1951

This South African virologist doctor Won the 1951 Nobel Prize for his discoveries about yellow fever and how to deal with it, In 1922 he began investigations into amoebic dysentery, tried to develop a vaccine against rat-bite fever, and worked with Andrew Sellards on yellow fever.

In 1937, after a severe epidemic in West Africa, he and his partner Hugh Smith Announced the creation of a 17-D vaccine Designed to combat yellow fever. After 14 years he won the highest award in his field.

Selman Abraham Waxman. 1952

American biochemist Waxman First truly effective antibiotic against tuberculosis discoveredWhose medical terminology “Streptomycin”. Said careless pursuit of relevance He was awarded the 1952 Nobel Prize,

Throughout his life he studied many things, but the most outstanding was How pathogenic microorganisms were destroyed, The first antibiotic discovered by Waksman was actinomycin, although it could not be used before because it was highly toxic, One of his students, Albert Schatz, discovered streptomycin in 1943, and after several legal battleWaxman was the one who eventually attained the highest distinction.

Peyton Ross. 1966

Peyton Rouse was an essential American physician in the history of medicine. Develop ways to discover two steps in cancer formationInitiation and manifestation. In this way, they demonstrated that it can be generated by various agents, be it chemical, viral, radiological and mechanical.

In 1911, he managed to isolate a virus from a cancerous tumor in a chicken, infect other animals with it, and see the same problem develop. for his job, Received the Nobel Prize for Physiology and Medicine in 1966,

Max Delbrück, Alfred D. Hershey, Salvador E. Luria. 1969

In 1969, for Conclusions on the reproductive system and the genetic structure of virusesThese 3 researchers were awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine. Luria had a strong political commitment, and along with other scientists were against nuclear war experiments and the Vietnam War.

Stanley Cohen, Rita Levy-Montalcini. 1986

Biochemist Stanley Cohen and Italian neurologist Rita Levi-Montalcini were He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine in 1986 for his discoveries related to nerve growth factors, They have been so relevant that they were pioneers in understanding the development of cells in animals.

Thank you for your work, Today it is easier to understand the causes of some pathological processesSuch as degenerative mutations and hereditary defects.

Joseph E. Murray, E. Donal Thomas. 1990

In 1990Donal Thomas and Joseph Murray shared the Nobel medicine For his discoveries in cell and organ transplantationMurray has been a pioneer in kidney transplantation. Both were able to resolve organ rejection in transplantation, thereby preventing this problem from occurring.


World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.

Latest News

Related Stories

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Thanks for submitting your comment!