Friday, March 1, 2024

The only country in Europe that is on three continents

The Earth is divided geographically into six continents: Asia, Antarctica, Europe, Africa, Oceania, and America, and due to the territorial division of each country, there are countries that are geographically distributed over several continents. This is possible because it is a territory divided by two continents, such as Russia, Turkey, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Kazakhstan, which are also known as transcontinental countries.

However, also because of conquered or colonized regions, there are countries that live on more than one continent. Chile is one of the few countries that spans three continents: America, Oceania, and Antarctica. If we look at Europe, the “old continent,” there is only one country that exists on three continents. This is France, and this is because the French Republic was constituted as a transcontinental state.

Specifically, it has a metropolitan part, which is the France that everyone knows and is located in the western part of Europe; and a series of small overseas regions distributed between Africa and America, where it has ruled since colonial times. According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, France is currently divided into 13 metropolitan regions, 2 overseas regions, and 3 single overseas communities, for a total of 101 departments (96 metropolitan and 5 abroad).

What are the French metropolitan and overseas regions?

Metropolitan regions of France:

  • Brittany
  • Center-Valle del Loire (Centre-Val de Loire)
  • Corsica (Corsica), Isle of France (Île-de-France)
  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur (Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur)
  • Country of the Loire (Pays de la Loire)
  • Normandy (Normandie)
  • Violas of France (Hauts-de-France)
  • Gran Este (Great East)
  • Nueva Aquitania (New Aquitaine)
  • Occitania
  • Burgundy-Franche-Comté (Bourgogne-Franche-Comté)
  • Auvergne Rhône-Alpes (Auvergne Rhône-Alpes).

Seven of these 13 metropolitan regions officially changed their names in 2016. In addition, France has 5 overseas communities (French Polynesia, Wallis and Futuna, Mayotte, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, French Southern and Antarctic Lands) and 1 overseas community with a particular status (New Caledonia).

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Desk
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news