Wednesday, December 07, 2022

The Princess of Asturias Awards in figures


The Campomore Theater in Oviedo hosts the delivery ceremony of the Princess of Asturias Awards this Friday, which reaches its 42nd edition this year, The history of the awards spanning more than four decades can be summarized in the following figures:

1.- On only one occasion has Don Felipe de Bourbon been absent from the award ceremony, holding the title of heir to the Crown. In 1984 when he completed the equivalent of University Orientation Course (COU) at Lockfield College School in Toronto (Canada).

2.- The Princess of Asturias Foundation has had two directors since its creation in 1981, journalist and promoter of the initiative, Graciano García, and lawyer Teresa Sanjuerzo, who replaced her in 2009.

3.- On October 3, 1981, the first delivery of the then Prince of Asturias Awards was held, the earliest date of a ceremony, with the latest date in the 1994 edition being November 29.

5.- So far, the Princess of Asturias Foundation has had five presidents: Pedro Massave Peterson (1980–1987), Placido Arango Arias (1987–1996), Jose Ramón lvarez Rendueles (1996–2008), Matias Rodríguez Inciert (2008) ) -2018 ) and Luis Fernandez Vega-Sanz, who will step down when he turns 70 in December, the maximum age prescribed in the institution’s statutes.

Economist Ana Isabel Fernandez will then assume the presidency following the resignation over health reasons of the Professor of Business Administration at the University of Cambridge Mauro Guillen’s Judge Business School, who was appointed last May.

World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.

Latest News

Related Stories

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Thanks for submitting your comment!