Friday, December 8, 2023

The US has eliminated the visa requirement for more than 40 countries

Starting November 30, the US will eliminate the visa requirement for more than 40 countries, which are part of the Visa Waiver Program (VWP), that require electronic permits through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA).

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced Israel’s inclusion on this list, a move that US Secretary of State Antony J. Blinken highlighted as an important step forward in strategic partnership and strengthening relations between countries.

VWP participants may visit the United States for tourism or business for up to 90 days; however, they are not permitted to participate in paid activities. The ESTA authorization is generally valid for two years, after which it can be renewed.

To qualify for this program, countries must meet strict criteria in security, counter-terrorism, immigration control, and border management.

Below is a list of countries that do not require a visa to enter the US:

  1. Andorra (1991)
  2. Australia (1996)
  3. Austria (1991)
  4. Belgium (1991)
  5. Brunei (1993)
  6. Chile (2014)
  7. Croatia (2021)
  8. Czech Republic (2008)
  9. Denmark (1991)
  10. Estonia (2008)
  11. Finlandia (1991)
  12. France (1989)
  13. Germany (1989)
  14. Greece (2010)
  15. Hungary (2008)
  16. Iceland (1991)
  17. Ireland (1995)
  18. Israel (2023)
  19. Italy (1989)
  20. Japan (1988)
  21. Korea, Republic of (2008)
  22. Latvia (2008)
  23. Liechtenstein (1991)
  24. Lithuania (2008)
  25. Luxembourg (1991)
  26. Malta (2008)
  27. Monaco (1991)
  28. Netherlands (1989)
  29. New Zealand (1991)
  30. Norway (1991)
  31. Poland (2019)
  32. Portugal (1999)
  33. San Marino (1991)
  34. Singapore (1999)
  35. Slovakia (2008)
  36. Slovenia (1997)
  37. Spain (1991)
  38. Sweden (1989)
  39. Switzerland (1989)
  40. Taiwan (2012)
  41. United Kingdom*(1988)

Residents of the newly incorporated Curaçao, Bonaire, Saint Eustatius, Saba, and Saint Martin (formerly part of the Netherlands Antilles) are not eligible for the Visa Waiver Program for travel to the United States if they attempt to enter with passports from those countries.

On the other hand, Cuban-Spanish citizens and citizens from other countries that are in the Visa Exemption Program but have visited Cuba after January 2021 will not be able to access ESTA to travel to the United States due to its inclusion in the list of countries that promote terrorism.

Consequently, these people must apply for a visa at a US consulate abroad, excluding the Cuban Embassy, ​​which currently prioritizes other consular procedures.

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Desk
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news