Saturday, December 2, 2023

The US will stop requiring visas for citizens of 41 countries on November 30

The United States authorities will release citizens of 41 countries from visas starting next November 31, as part of the Visa Waiver Program (VWP). With this, citizens of these countries only need to process an online Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) permit to enter the North American country.

This list of 40 countries, but the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) will add Israeli citizens from the indicated date, increasing the number of visa-free countries to 41.

According to the US Secretary of State, Antony J. Blinken, the inclusion of this country represents a critical step in the partnership between the two countries.

“Israel’s entry into the Visa Waiver Program represents a critical step in our strategic partnership,” said Blinken, who believes that it will strengthen the relationship between these two countries, as well as economic cooperation.

Citizens of countries listed on the VWP can travel to the United States for tourism or business for up to 90 days without needing a US visa. period of time.

ESTA is usually valid for two years, and can be requested again after the end of this period.

For a country to be part of the program, it must meet strict requirements regarding the fight against terrorism and law enforcement, two points in which Cuba, which is on the list of countries that promote terrorism , It is not part of VWP.

List of VWP program countries in alphabetical order:

  • Andorra, which has been part of the program since 1991.
  • Australia (1996).
  • Austria (1991).
  • Belgium (1991).
  • Brunei (1993).
  • Chile (2014).
  • Croatia (2021).
  • Czech Republic (2008).
  • Denmark (1991).
  • Estonia (2008).
  • Finland (1991).
  • France (1989).
  • Germany (1989).
  • Greece (2010).
  • Hungary (2008).
  • Iceland (1991).
  • Ireland (1995).
  • Israel (2023).
  • Italy (1989).
  • Japan (1988).
  • Korea, Republic of (2008).
  • Latvia (2008).
  • Liechtenstein (1991).
  • Lithuania (2008).
  • Luxembourg (1991).
  • Malta (2008).
  • Monaco (1991).
  • Netherlands (1989).
  • New Zealand (1991).
  • Norway (1991).
  • Poland (2019).
  • Portugal (1999).
  • San Marino (1991).
  • Singapore (1999).
  • Slovakia (2008).
  • Slovenia (1997).
  • Spain (1991).
  • Sweden (1989).
  • Switzerland (1989).
  • Taiwan (2012).
  • United Kingdom (1988).

It is important to mention that citizens of the new countries of Curacao, Bonaire, Saint Eustatius, Saba and Saint Martin (formerly the Netherlands Antilles) are not eligible to travel to the US under the VWP if they apply for admission with passport from the territories. .

Likewise, the authorities have clarified that citizens with dual Cuban nationality who visit the Island after January 2021 will be rejected, due to the list of countries that promote terrorism. People who find themselves in this situation must apply for a visa at a US consulate.

According to the US Embassy on the Island, the only way for these people to travel to the US is to schedule a tourist visa at any of the consular headquarters of the North American country, except the one on the Island.

Recently, the US Embassy in Cuba reported that the only option for these people is to schedule an appointment for a tourist visa with a US diplomat at any consular representation in the north country in the world, except the Island, since the category B1 The /B2 visa is not issued in Havana due to lack of staff.

World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Desk
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news