Parking spaces reserved for people with disabilities, intended to ensure their accessibility, have become the focus of a growing crisis in the state of California. In this investigation,n we show you how to get the wrong disabled permits.
What should be a valuable resource for those facing mobility challenges has become a battlefield due to the proliferation of fake parking permits.
“Maybe because they don’t want to walk far. They stopped there because it was more convenient for them, but they didn’t think about what they did to us,” explained Geovannie Rosales.
The view of a person in a wheelchair
One afternoon in July 2018, Geovannie’s life changed.
He was hit by a drunk driver while he was walking to his car. After the impact, all he remembers is flying and waking up cold in the hospital.
“The first thing is I can’t believe I’m in the hospital, because it’s my first time,” he said.
Five years later, he is still adapting to life in a wheelchair, because despite the difficulties, he needs to continue his life.
For people like Geovannie and his girlfriend Kristen, leaving home has become a constant challenge. Every time they need to park, they face the uncertainty of finding a suitable space.
They are often forced to walk long distances or, in the worst case, stand in the middle of the road and get off there due to the lack of accessible spaces.
It not only puts more burden on your daily lif, but also relives the trauma of your previous experience.
“My biggest fear is that a car will hit me again,” he explained.
Thenumbers of illegal parkinghase alarmed the authorities
The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) estimates that approximately one in ten handicap parking plates are used incorrectly.
This information is worrying, because these plates should be reserved only for those who need them.
“In the Fiscal Year 2022 to 2023, we investigated 621 cartel cases with a total of 674 violations,” explained Angelica Martínez, spokeswoman for the DMV.
In addition, investigations revealed that many of these plates were registered in the names of deceased people or centenarians, although the state has a smaller number of people of that age.
Measures to address parking in places for people with disabilities
The State of California has taken steps to address this epidemic of fake parking permits.
In 2017, Senate Bill 611 was passed, aimed at correcting DMV deficiencies. Permit holders are now required to provide their signature every six years to prove their need for a parking space.
This step seeks to guarantee that those who have these permits really need them and are live.
Consequences for violators
Improper use of a disabled parking permit in California is considered a serious offense and can result in fines ranging from $250 to $1,000.
To report misuse of these plates, citizens can complete an online complaint form or contact their local DMV Investigations office.
“If I have the chance to walk somewhere I will,” concluded Geovanni.
Forgetting it or simply not having one, whatever the case, driving without a license in California is illegal and here you can see what penalties you can face in this case. You can also find here how to get a California driver’s license for undocumented people.
The first thing you should know is that driving without a license is illegal in California and any other state in the country, and by doing so you can receive a fine or even receive criminal charges, as the case may be. You should also keep in mind that if you drive without a license in California you may also lose points, making your insurance more expensive.
A driver’s license is a legal document that proves that its owner is qualified to drive a car, but he also knows the traffic laws.
What are the penalties for driving without a license in California California Vehicle Code 12500 punishes people caught driving without a valid license with a fine of around $250. However, if it’s not the first time they’ve done it, the fine can go up to $1,000 and even six months in jail can be imposed. You can also receive three years of probation and have your vehicle impounded for 30 days, during which time you must also pay towing and impounding fees.
I have a license, but I forgot it at home. This is one of the most common penalties for driving without a license in California; In these cases, fines are imposed that can increase in value if the situation is repeated, in addition to the fact that you can be charged with a misdemeanor.
I have a revoked license, but I choose to drive Driving a vehicle with a suspended or revoked license is considered a misdemeanor, according to California Vehicle Code 14601. You can be sentenced to three years of probation, five days to to six months in prison, and a fine of $300 to $1,000 for a second offense. But if it’s a third offense, the penalty is three years of probation, 10 days to one year in jail and a fine of $500 to $2,0
I have an expired license, but I choose to drive It is considered a misdemeanor; However, the penalties established by law can be reduced if the offender renews his license within a short time after the violation.