- Advertisement -spot_img
Monday, January 30, 2023

USA grouped with Netherlands and Vietnam in 2023 Women’s World Cup draw

The US women’s national team will face a familiar foe at the start of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Saturday’s draw placed the winner of the US, Netherlands, Vietnam and the TBD qualifiers in Group E for the 2023 event in Australia and New Zealand. The USA will begin the group stage against Vietnam on 22 July, face the Netherlands on 27 July and finish against the winners of the tie on 1 August. All three of the Americans’ group stage matches will be played in New Zealand.

Although the United States would face Vietnam first, the most important game of the group stage would be against the Netherlands. The two teams met in the 2019 Women’s World Cup final in France, with the USA emerging victorious thanks to goals from Megan Rapinoe and Rose Lavelle. Both sides will be eyeing another final in 2023 as the USA are ranked No.1 and the Netherlands are No.8 in the FIFA rankings.

The 2023 draw could set up another intriguing final showdown for the Americans. England, who are fourth in the FIFA rankings and beat the United States 2-1 at Wembley Stadium earlier this month, were drawn in Group D with China, Denmark and a playoff winner from the fixture. Pool D is on the opposite side of the bracket from Pool E, meaning that the United States and England will not meet until the final or third-place match.

The host countries will start the tournament from 20 July. New Zealand will face Norway in their Group A match, while Australia will face Ireland in their Group B opener.

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Draw

Here’s the complete draw of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, along with the countries competing for the final playoff spots:

Group A

  • new zealand
  • Norway
  • Philippines
  • Switzerland

group b

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Ireland
  • Nigeria

group c

  • Costa Rica
  • Japan
  • spain
  • zambia

group d

  • China
  • Denmark
  • England
  • Winner of Group B tie (Chile, Haiti or Senegal)

Group E

  • Netherlands
  • United States of america
  • Vietnam
  • Winner of Group A tie (Cameroon, Portugal or Thailand)

Group F

  • Brazil
  • France
  • Jamaica
  • Winner of Group C qualifiers (Chinese Taipei, Panama, Papua New Guinea or Paraguay)

Group G

  • Argentina
  • Italy
  • South Africa
  • Sweden

group h

  • Colombia
  • Germany
  • Morocco
  • South Korea
World Nation News Desk
World Nation News Deskhttps://worldnationnews.com/
World Nation News is a digital news portal website. Which provides important and latest breaking news updates to our audience in an effective and efficient ways, like world’s top stories, entertainment, sports, technology and much more news.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here