(CNN Business)– WhatsApp on Tuesday announced several privacy updates. Among them, there are chances that people review their messages without other users knowing.
The platform will soon allow people to control who can see who they are online. Also prevent others from taking screenshots of certain messages and leaving the group without notifying the entire channel.
WhatsApp has over 2 billion users worldwide and is related to Meta, the parent company of Facebook. Announcing the update on Facebook and Instagram, CEO Mark Zuckerberg said the company will “continue to create new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as a face-to-face conversation.”
For a long time, WhatsApp has promoted the use of end-to-end encryption. Which means that only the sender and receiver of the message can see its content. And, like other private messaging platforms, it already allows its users to send messages that disappear after a certain period of time.
However, last year WhatsApp came under intense scrutiny following an update to its terms of service.
The update prompted many people to use Signal, another popular encrypted messaging platform.
Facebook tried to clear up confusion about the policy. And he explained that their data-sharing practices were not new and “did not affect the way people communicate privately with friends or family.”
Now, two new features coming to WhatsApp — letting you choose who can see you when you’re online and turning groups on silent — will start rolling out to all users this month.
According to WhatsApp the tool to block screenshots, which will only be available in one-time views, is still being tested and will be available at a later date.